Quantum Leap – tape 1565

This tape opens with the end of an episode of Far Flung Floyd. “Roll credits, and mine’s a large one” is his closing line. Sums up his career, really.

There’s a trailer for Police Squad (after our recent look at Naked Gun), and a trailer for a documentary about Genghis Khan, Storm from the East.

Then, Quantum Leap and an episode called Stand Up. Sam leaps into the body of a stand-up comic while he’s on stage. I’ve had that nightmare.

His partner is played by comedian and game show host Bob Saget.

BBC Genome: BBC Two – 17th August 1993 – 21:00

The next episode is A Leap For Lisa, and sees Sam leap onto a beach, and have a bit of a From Here To Eternity moment.

But that is a dream, and Sam is a marine, accused of raping and murdering the wife of ‘Commander Riker’. To confuse things further for Star Trek fans, the titular Lisa is played by Dax her/himself, Terry Farrell.

The wrinkle in this leap is that Sam has leaped in a young Al, so has to help his friend avoid the court martial. The problem is that the Captain is testifying that he saw Al rape and murder his wife. And as the case turns against Al, and the likelihood of his being found guilty heads towards 100%, suddenly Al is no longer there, and Sam is talking to Roddy McDowall.

What a brilliant moment. As is the moment, later in the episode, when Sam finds the clue that solves the mystery, and suddenly Al is back talking to him again. I forget that for all its simplicity, this show uses some very sophisticated time travel narratives.

Naturally, Sam puts everything right, and even saves the lives of two characters who had died earlier, which is clever. A very upbeat ending, considering the teaser for the next episode has him leaping into Lee Harvey Oswald.

BBC Genome: BBC Two – 24th August 1993 – 21:00

After this, there’s a trailer for The Buddha of Suburbia, Stark, and Wild Palms. Then the tape ends. A short one again, I’m afraid.

3 comments

  1. Well, now I know what I was doing on the evenings of 17 and 24 August 1993!

    A great big wodge of SF descended on me that year. I had discovered Douglas Adams in the spring, and was busily obsessing over the Hitch-Hikers quadrilogy (as it effectively was then for me; Mostly Harmless had been published the previous year, and I hadn’t got a copy yet). Then Star Trek: Deep Space Nine premiered in the UK in August, on Sky, which my family didn’t have. But it turned out that we were in London on a short break the weekend of the premiere. My mother and father were not too happy when I announced that I much preferred the idea of staying in the hotel room to watch the pilot than going to the West End to see Cats! (A compromise was worked out – we stayed in the room longer than we were going to, so I got to see the first 45 minutes.)

    Then a few days later, I tuned into the fact that a sci-fi show called Quantum Leap was airing on BBC2, and I hadn’t been watching it. The first episode described above was the first one I watched, and the second one had me hooked. Then came series six of Red Dwarf in the autumn, Doctor Who’s 30th anniversary in November, and a smashing Christmas present of the BBC’s TV adaptation of Hitch-Hikers on VHS, together with Stark being premiered just before Christmas (jaw-droppingly good; glad to see it getting a mention above. Have you come across a copy yet?), and (IIRC) Star Trek V: The Final Frontier being premiered on New Year’s Eve. Days of plenty for a nerdy teenager.

    Really appreciate the blog. Kudos!

    1. Stark came up quite a while ago on the blog.

      https://vhistory.wordpress.com/2016/05/08/stark-nypd-blue-tape-1615/

      Nice to see Douglas Adams was an influence. I might have mentioned before on this blog that I worked with Douglas at The Digital Village, which was a brilliant time, because I too had grown up with his work, discovering Hitchhikers as a teenager, although because I’m a bit older than you are, this was after the first series had gone out, before the second series was first broadcast on Radio 4 (I sat there with my radio-cassette recording every episode so I could listen to them again and again like I had with the original) and before the first novel was published.

      They say you should never meet your heroes, but I think it’s OK when they’re people like Douglas. And that time at the Digital Village, when we built h2g2.com, was definitely my happiest working experience. First and last time I’ll ever get to launch a massive website live on Tomorrow’s World. But that’s a story for a later time, and a later tape in my collection.

      1. So it was – I even posted a comment below the line! I want my pre-internet brain back…

Leave a Reply

