24 – tape 2477

Here’s another tape of 24. This one was recorded directly from the satellite box, and is therefore in widescreen, a fairly new innovation for me at this time.

The first episode here is one of the ones we saw in the previous tape, 12pm-1pm.

I’m not sure, but this might be the first recording I’ve done from BBC Choice, one of the BBC’s first digital-only channels, and the channel that eventually became BBC Three.

BBC Choice

BBC Genome: BBC Choice – 26th May 2002 – 22:45

I should point out that the Radio Times listing is wrong in listing this as 12-1am. It’s 12-1pm

Charmingly, even though this is a premiere of the episode, BBC Choice decides to squash up the credits to show a trail for 2 Pints of Lager and a Packet of Crisps.

Before the next episode, there’s the end of Japan TV about music in Japan.

Then there’s a trail for Fields of Gold. Then a trail for Jonathan Ross’s Japanorama.

Then, 1pm-2pm of 24 which is very much a filler episode. Lots of skulking around, Jack’s back at CTU but in custody, Nina’s looking after Terri and Kim, and Palmer is being blackmailed by his supporters. But at least it ends in a bit of a cliffhanger, as Palmer arrives at CTU wanting to talk to Bauer, whom he believes is the assassin.

BBC Genome: BBC Choice – 2nd June 2002 – 22:45

Next, another episode, this one recorded off the TiVo. There’s a tiny glimpse of Sex in Japan before it jumps to the start of the programme – I suspect I paused recording to skip the trailers. Sorry.

This is another episode where not a lot happens. Palmer realises that Jack is an ally, and they both realise that Jack’s family is being directly targeted, rather than just to put pressure on Jack. And Jack is reinstated at Palmer’s request. Terri finds out she’s pregnant, but doesn’t tell Jack yet.

BBC Genome: BBC Choice – 9th June 2002 – 22:45

After this, there’s a trailer for Johnny Vaughan’s World Cup Extra. Plus a general trailer for Sunday Nights on BBC Choice. Then there’s the start of an episode of Diners.

Then, the TiVo menu appears, and after fifteen minutes of this, it flips into live TV, which claims to be Trisha Exposes but looks more like a movie, with two young kids who look like Elijah Wood and Jurassic Park’s Joseph Mazzello, flying a home-made aeroplane next to an airport, whilst being harassed by an abusive father.

That’s my guess, but the recording has no sound, for unknown reasons.

My guess would be Radio Flyer, which I’ve never seen, but definitely fits the pictures. It even has an uncredited appearance by Tom Hanks at the end.

There’s a bunch of Sky Movies stuff after this, but with no sound on the recording, I don’t think there’s much value going through it. There’s a Scooby Doo animated movie, and a bit of The Simpsons in there.

3 comments

  1. The first three series of 24 I saw were mostly filler anyway, I couldn’t understand why it became as big as it did. Stre-e-e-etching out the plot with Kiefer creeping about or most egregiously, having Kim kidnapped, obviously females in action movies and TV exist to be kidnapped, but this was even more ridiculous than usual, she was ludicrously accident prone. I gave up with it eventually, couldn’t be bothered anymore.

    1. I had an interesting experience with 24. Like you, I’d given up after around series 3 because it was getting annoying. A couple of years ago, I decided to try catching up with it, and I slogged through series 4, which seemed (to me) to epitomise all the failings of the series. So I almost decided to give up altogether.

      Then I cracked, and thought I’d give season 5 a try, and it seemed like suddenly it was a whole different series. The characters were more interesting, the plot wasn’t entirely predicated on all of CTU hating each other, and it just generally started working. I can’t be sure, but I do suspect that it had something to do with the fact that former Buffy writer David Fury had joined the writing staff.

      Also, if you’ve never seen 24: Live Another Day, which is set in London, you should do yourself a favour and watch it, because it’s utterly bonkers, and massively enjoyable. Plus, it’s only 12 episodes instead of 24.

      1. I had the same experience with The Walking Dead, first three series bored me to tears, then it clicked (or improved). But I just have too much to watch to be going back to catch up with 24 at the moment, thanks anyway.

Leave a Reply

